VWO Platform

Conversion Rate Optimization Solutions for Revenue Growth

VWO’s end-to-end CRO platform helps brands understand visitor behavior, make observations, build a testing pipeline, execute the tests for statistical results, and engage through new-age channels.

Know More
VWO GDPR Ready Badge
VWO CCPA Ready Badge
VWO G2Crowd Leader Spring Badge
VWO BS 10012 Certification Badge
SOC 2 logo
Follow us and stay on top of everything CRO

How to benchmark competition conversion rates using Alexa in two super simple steps

3 Min Read

Let’s face the truth; Alexa is not the best source of traffic data out there on the Internet. Plus, it does not have statistics on conversion rates. But, hey, Alexa is free and we are going to use it to benchmark (approximately) the conversion rates for your competition. Here is how to do it in two simple steps:

Step 1. Establish industry norms using your actual conversion rate data

Suppose you are SEOMoz (I am using this website as an example and have no real data for them) and you sell paid tools for SEO. Let’s suppose your current conversion rate is a conservative 4% (again, hypothetical data) and you want to estimate how your competitor SEO Book is doing.

Download Free: Conversion Rate Optimization Guide

You and your competitors (since it is the same industry after all) follow a similar trend when it comes to the relationship between conversion rates and other site metrics such as bounce rate, time on site, and page views per user. In this step, we try to calculate values for parameters that relate conversion rate to all these metrics. Using your actual conversion rate data and the stats that Alexa shows about your website, calculate X, Y, and Z as the following:

  • Your Conversion Rate = X * (1 / Bounce Rate as shown by Alexa )
  • Your Conversion Rate = Y * Time Spent on Site as shown by Alexa (in seconds)
  • Your Conversion Rate = Z * Page views/user as shown by Alexa

The reason we don’t use your actual bounce rate, time spent, and page views data is that you don’t have that data for your competitors. You only know what Alexa says about your website and what Alexa says about your competitors. So it is better to work on the Alexa data that is freely available and uses the same methodology all across.

As an example of SEOMoz, Alexa tells the bounce rate, time spent on site, and page views/user is 50.7%, 219.7 seconds, and 3.2 respectively. Using this data, we get the values of X, Y, and Z as:

  • X = 4% / (1 / 50.7 %) = 201.6
  • Y = 4% / 219.7 = 0.018
  • Z = 4% / 3.2 = 1.25

Step 2.  Use the parameters to estimate the competitor’s conversion rate

Now we have obtained the parameters that relate your actual conversion rate to the data that Alexa shows about your website. The next step is to simply use those parameters on your competitor’s data (as shown by Alexa) to get estimates of their conversion rate.

Competitor Conversion Rate:

  • Estimate 1 = X * (1 / Competitor Bounce Rate as shown by Alexa)
  • Estimate 2 = Y * Competitor Time spent on Site as shown by Alexa
  • Estimate 3 = Z * Competitor Page views/user as shown by Alexa

Finally, to get an idea of their real conversion rate, we simply average the estimates.

Competitor Conversion Rate = (Estimate 1 + Estimate 2 + Estimate 3) / 3

Continuing the SEOMoz example, if we were to estimate the conversion rates for SEOBook, we calculate 3 estimates of conversion rate (based on the data shown by Alexa for SEOBook):

  • Estimate 1 = 201.6 * (1/69.4) = 2.90%
  • Estimate 2 = 0.018 * 135 = 2.43%
  • Estimate 3 = 1.25 * 2.43 = 3.0%

As you can observe, the estimates are quite close. Hence, we can be pretty confident that the actual conversion rate is close to the average of these three estimates, which is:

Estimated conversion rate = 2.77%

Of course, the above-estimated value is only valid if the real conversion rate for SEOMoz that I assumed (4%) is true, which may or may not be the case as I don’t have access to their real web analytic data.

Download Free: Conversion Rate Optimization Guide

Summary

Simply plug in your conversion rates in the above methodology and you should have a pretty good estimate of how you are doing as compared to your competitors. You can also try to triangulate your estimates by using other data sources (apart from Alexa) such as Compete.com or Quantcast.

Do let me know if you find this approach helpful.  As always, feedback and comments are appreciated. Want a tool to automate all this analysis for you?

PS: The way I define Bounce Rate and Conversion Rate, are not related.  But the way Alexa defines it, the two metrics are definitely related.

Paras Chopra
Paras Chopra I started Wingify in early 2009 to enable businesses to design and deploy great customer experiences for their websites and apps. I have a background in machine learning and am a gold medalist from Delhi College of Engineering. I have been featured twice in the Forbes 30 under 30 list - India and Asia. I'm an entrepreneur by profession and my curiosity is wide-ranging. Follow me at @paraschopra on Twitter. You can email me at paras@wingify.com
Share
Related content
More from VWO on Conversion Rate Optimization
A Psychological Guide to Improving Conversions

A Psychological Guide to Improving Conversions

According to Harry Levi Hollingworth, the man who brought psychology into the world of advertising,…

Read More
Ankit Oberoi

Ankit Oberoi

14 Min Read
3 Most Important eCommerce Metrics: AOV, CR, and RPV

3 Most Important eCommerce Metrics: AOV, CR, and RPV

When tracking metrics for eCommerce sites, it’s important to understand that metrics simply show symptoms,…

Read More
Shanaz Khan

Shanaz Khan

9 Min Read
Thinking Like a Bayesian

Thinking Like a Bayesian

I recently finished reading a book on the history of the Bayes’ theorem (appropriately called…

Read More
Paras Chopra

Paras Chopra

3 Min Read

Scale your A/B testing and experimentation with VWO.

Start Free Trial Request Demo

DOWNLOAD CONVERSION RATE OPTIMIZATION FREE E-BOOK