Sometimes when you disable a variation, you’ll see that it still records conversions and you feel it shouldn’t because it’s “disabled”. The reason is that disabling a variation in Visual Website Optimizer does not mean “stopped showing to visitors”, rather it means “new visitors are not shown that variation”.
The old visitors who became part of a test and were assigned a variation, will continue to see that same variation even after it has been disabled. When these visitors complete a goal, it shows up in the VWO dashboard as an increase in conversion against the disabled variation (but no increase in total number of visitors to the variation, since it’s not shown to anyone else).
This is done to ensure statistical consistency and not break the user experience.